June 27, 2011

  • This is (one of) the reason(s) I will never get Facebook.

    Yeah not many people read this blog.  That was made disturbingly clear to me after my last post, because of it’s importance and serious meaning behind it.  But there’s at least two or three people who read it still, so I guess that’s still something.

    Not more than 5 minutes ago, my friend texted me telling me to “go check Eric’s (my bf) facebook”.  I hate facebook, also I’m too lazy to turn on his computer to do so, so I asked “what for?”.  The response I got pretty much put the nail in the coffin of that facebook account that I was never going to make anyway – “Event invitation”.  To which I said, “Why do I have to check facebook for it.. Can’t you just tell me? This is why facebook is stupid.”  

    And it IS why facebook is stupid. Well, one of the reasons, aside from the huge privacy issues, and the stupid amount of people who are so addicted to it they can’t go 10 minutes without checking for facebook updates, or making their own updates. People don’t talk anymore.  Or they do, but they use facebook to communicate, and talking is just something that’s done as a pastime. My friend was already texting me – why would I have to check facebook (especially since I don’t even have one) to see an invite to a party sometime in the near future, when he could easily have just texted me about it right then and there?  I’ve also missed out on get-togethers and such BECAUSE people ONLY used facebook to express their intent to have said get-together. My bf is not one of those people who religiously checks his facebook, so if there’s an invite and he doesn’t see it before the event happens – and nobody bothers to invite us otherwise – we miss it.  It’s only happened a few times so far, but it’s bound to happen more in the future.  

    Some people might say “so check your facebook more often” or in my case, “GET a facebook account” … to which I would like to say whole heartedly, fuck you. D:  I have a phone. It’s always turned on, and almost always with me. Even on the off chance the battery dies or something, texts and/or voicemails can still be acquired when I turn it back on.  So, why not just use that?  Sure, for large-scale things (where you’re inviting upwards of maybe 30 people) facebook invites are pretty easy. Saves the time it’d take to call them all.  But texting 30 people (assuming they all have text-worthy cell phones, but honestly, I can count on one hand how many people I know that don’t have one) takes a minute. And for those that don’t have text, you call. Since you (probably) have their number in your contacts list, it makes it even easier!  And if you intend to invite people who are not on your contact list – how hard is it to ask someone who knows their number for it, or to pass on the message for you?  :P  That’s what I always do.  And I have more get-togethers in a year than most of my friends who use facebook do.

    Anyway, I’m totally just rambling here.  But I had to say it because it just totally blew my mind.  I know facebook is retarded, and that people are lazy/silly – but he was already texting me! And knows I don’t have facebook! It hurts my brain.  xD

     

    And since the font size on my title is so tiny – I feel the need to restate the following:

     

    Facebook is stupid!

Comments (3)

  • It sure is. Now I know why I never found you on FB, xD

  • I’ll say this for Facebook events, it’s a great way to check to see if someone you don’t want to see will be there. I can think of one or two people who annoy me so much that I’ll decide not to go somewhere based entirely on whether or not they say they’re going on :p

    Otherwise, I almost never reply to them. A little too boring and impersonal for my tastes.

  • Oh, and Happy Canada Day!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *